Home > Kids, Parenting > Class of 2023

Class of 2023

September 7, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

The sight of my sleeping 5 year old still takes my breath away.  I can see glimpses of his little baby face.  I can see his easy-going manner, his smile, his giggles, the perfection in his long black eyelashes…

The eve of the first day of school reminds me that these days are numbered.  The days where he will stop giving me bear hugs, where he will stop telling me, “but I just want to snuggle with you”.  He won’t ask me “How do you count to Hallowe’en”.  He won’t ask if he can come with me, everywhere I go.   One day, not too long from now, he won’t hold my hand or sing along with me in the car.

I think back now to the choices I’ve made, and wish things could have been different.  If I could change it now I would go back in time, quit my job, never leave the house, just spend every moment just soaking up his toddler ways and storing it all away in my heart to bring out to comfort myself in the days like today when I am nearly debilitated by the shock at how fast he is growing up, and ultimately, growing away.

These are all good things, amazing things.  My son is a wonderful little boy, fun and kind, who makes friends easily and is never a worry to me or other moms.  I know he will thrive and excel in school, that this is the next step in his life and ours.  I do know that; I am happy and proud.  But there is always the part of me that wants to keep him safe, innocent, free of the burdens of life lessons; somewhere that I can be his protector.

These are the pangs in my heart today, and in the hearts of many, I’m sure. On one hand, I can’t wait to see what our kids will become, and on the other: I think they’re perfect right now, right here, at this very moment.  Kiss them goodnight and hold them tightly in your heart.

There are two lasting bequests we can give our children.  One is roots.  The other is wings.  ~Hodding Carter, Jr.

Categories: Kids, Parenting
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

