Home > Food > Superfood: you can do it.

Superfood: you can do it.

Almost every superfood list includes oatmeal and blueberries. Oatmeal is claimed to fight cancer and heart disease, and blueberries are high in vitamin C and antioxidants.

It seems like such a virtuous thing to eat, but here’s the thing:  it’s boring as hell. I’m not a fan of sweet, but plain glue-ey oatmeal makes me think of the slop on Big Brother.

So here’s how you can learn to enjoy oatmeal while maintaining its benefits.  First off, I choose either 9-grain or “porridge oats” cereal produced by Rogers, a local company.  It’s oatmeal with a little somethin’ somethin’…additional grains like flax seed and wheat bran, which gives it a little more texture.  I use less than half a cup.

Next, I add a LOT of cinnamon (also showing up on superfood lists, purporting to control blood sugar, prevent diabetes, and help arthritis sufferers).  Experiment to your taste.   I cook it with almond milk.  You can use your preferred milk; I prefer almond due to the low calorie count.  Making oatmeal with milk lends a creamier texture and takes away the gluey-ness that you can sometimes end up with.  Add enough milk to cover up the oatmeal.  Microwave for 2-3 minutes and stir it immediately upon removal (and as my office can tell you…be careful, ”OUCH!  It’s HOT!!”)

I then add a handful of frozen berries – ½ cup to a cup.  My preferred brand is the Kirkland Rader Farms ($10.69/bag, Costco).  The quality is great.  Add a little more milk if it’s dried up, stir in the frozen berries, then microwave for another minute or two.

To me, it ends up tasting just like a fruit crumble.  I’m sure you could experiment with other spices or use apples or applesauce.  It’s really natural, easy and tasty this way and your whole kitchen will smell like pie!  I’m still working on getting the kids to eat it (rather than just pick out the berries), but if your kids are a little more adventurous than mine, then they’ll love it too.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

